these as are comprised within a large district, called a county constitute. (d.) The county municipality; (e.) Cities are established from the growth of towns when their population exceeds 15,000.

The townships and villages are administered by a reeve and councillors; the towns by a mayor and councillors. The governing body of the county municipality is composed of the reeves and deputy reeves of the townships, villages and towns within the county, the presiding officer being styled warden.

By the Act of Confederation it is provided that the Governor General in Council shall appoint the judges of the Superior, District and County Courts, the salaries, allowances and pensions for whom are fixed by the Dominion Parliament.

The highest court in Canada is known as the Supreme Court of Canada. It has an appellate, civil and criminal jurisdiction in and throughout Canada. It has also appellate jurisdiction in controverted elections cases and may examine and report upon any private bill or petition for the same. It has jurisdiction in cases of controversies between the Dominion and the provinces, and between the provinces themselves on condition that the Legislatures pass Acts agreeing to such jurisdiction. Under Act of the Canadian Parliament passed in 1891, the Governor in Council may refer to the Supreme Court for an opinion upon any matter which he deems advisable in the public interest.

The court is presided over by a chief justice and five puisne judges. From its decision an appeal lies to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of England, except in criminal cases; in these the judgment of the Supreme Court is final.

The Exchequer Court, presided over by a single judge, possesses exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases in which demand is made or relief sought in any suit or action of the Court of Exchequer, on its revenue side, against the Crown or any of its officers. This court also possesses original jurisdiction in all cases in which it is sought to enforce any law relating to the revenue. It is also a Colonial Court of Admiralty.

The Superior courts of the several provinces are constituted as follows :—Ontario—The Supreme Court of Judicature, consisting of two permanent divisions called respectively the High Court of Justice for Ontario and the Court of Appeal for Ontario. The first division is again divided into three parts, having concurrent jurisdiction, Queen's Bench, Common Pleas and Chancery, the first two of which are presided over by a Chief Justice and two judges for each, and the third of which is composed of a charcellor and three judges. Quebec—The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisne judges, and the Chief Justice of the Superior Court and twenty-nine puisne judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity and five and four puisne judges respectively. Manitoba—The Chief Justice and three puisne judges. British Columbia—The Chief Justice and four puisne judges. Prince Edward Is-

 $2\frac{1}{2}$